Skip to content

HPEF Announces 2012 Event!

July 7, 2010
Ascendio 2012

Plans are being made…
Time is moving forward…
Take flight…

Ascendio 2012 will be held from July 12-15, 2012 at the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®, the home of The Wizarding World of Harry Potter®.

Many people have asked if Infinitus would be the last event for HPEF. After a great deal of deliberation, it was decided that we’re not ready to give up our conferences quite yet! We’re very excited – not just about returning to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, but also about the events we’re planning, the Portofino Bay Hotel, and seeing all of you once again. There will be a short break between Infinitus and Ascendio 2012, which will be a smaller event in keeping with HPEF’s educational mission and the more intimate atmosphere of the conference hotel.

The conference theme, “Take flight…” suggests many aspects of the Harry Potter series: owls, broomsticks, Thestrals, Buckbeak, dragons; the Flight of the Prince; Voldemort’s fleeing from death; traveling through time with the Time-Turner… Flight can have positive or negative connotations, but it is certainly a major theme in the Harry Potter series. Therefore, our formal and informal programming will focus on journeys through time and space, particularly those that involve flight.

Ascendio 2012 is in the very preliminary stages of planning, but the organizers and staff will continue in the footsteps of the previous seven events and bring you both the outstanding academic and non-academic events that you’ve come to expect from an HPEF symposium. And, of course, we also plan on having Wrock, Quidditch, an Art Gallery, podcasts, and much, much more.

At this time we’re looking to fill chair positions. For those of you with experience in past events, please email us at ascendio2012@gmail.com to let us know that you’re interested in a chair position.

Further information about events, volunteer opportunities, hotel information, registration details, and news about the event will be on the web site (www.hp2012.org) as that information becomes available. Feel free to stop by and sign-up for our newsletter.

Registration opens Summer 2011

See you at Ascendio 2012!

HP2012.org

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Serade Black permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    It’s terrible to say, but I’ve held off on having kids until there was 1.) a break or 2.) I was ready for a break. It’s sooo good to see that I don’t have to choose and I’ll have time to become a mommy and then get back into it. My husband is sooo ready to kill me 😉

  2. Becky permalink
    July 7, 2010 5:24 pm

    I love that HPEF is continuing to have events… but to be honest, I’m kinda bummed that all of the major HP cons in the next three years (2010, 2011 (LeakyCon), and 2012) are all in Orlando. I mean, I get that the theme park is there, but I was really hoping there would be a con closer to me (and therefore more affordable!). I also like traveling to different places and the cons give me an excuse to do that. Unfortunately I can’t really justify taking a trip to Orlando three years in a row!

    But ultimately I am glad to see that HPEF is continuing their work. I guess here’s to hoping for 2013…

    • Sectumsampra permalink
      July 7, 2010 6:52 pm

      I agree with you in the fact that I love going to these cons and visiting new places, and Orlando 3 times in a row (Infinitus, Leakycon, Ascendio) is not something I’m too keen on doing. I’m also from Canada, so getting down to Florida is rather costly. But, oh well!

    • johnson permalink
      July 7, 2010 6:55 pm

      yep. agreed. i vote not orlando again!!

    • Serade Black permalink
      July 8, 2010 5:08 pm

      LeakyCon is NOT an HPEF event and it will only be their 2nd event. From what I’ve heard, LeakyCon in Boston was not as good and it was recommended to stick with the HPEF cons. Narrate Conferences were great as well, but they’re finished with HP stuff (as far as I know). Take a break and return in 2 years…then O-town won’t get old.

      • Becky permalink
        July 8, 2010 7:21 pm

        I’m aware that LeakyCon is not an HPEF event, but it is the only con that I know of happening in 2011. LeakyCon in Boston was actually quite good (I was there), and now that they have had the experience of a con I suspect they will do an even better job next time. And I already have plans to visit Orlando in 2011 not related to any cons… I know that obviously that can’t be helped and everyone feels differently, I would have just liked an excuse to travel somewhere else 🙂

        Unfortunately when you don’t have tons of money you hope that the con will be closer to your home so you can actually attend, and Orlando is a pretty far trip for me. But, it’s just the luck of the draw, and I’m sure it works out nicely for people that are closer to Orlando.

      • Serade Black permalink
        July 9, 2010 9:17 am

        I’m absolutely with you on the travel bit! Believe me, it added to the excitement. It was great when they had it in cities that had awesome public transportation. Plus, you always got a different wave of people at each location.

        Good luck to LeakyCon, i wish them great luck! I guess IMO the HPEF/Narrate conferences weren’t centered around WizardWrock so much. That, above all else, made me not go. But, that’s just me. It seems HPEF has a buffet off good stuff to offer beyond that.

        But, I apologize, I’m not trying to rant and compare! I do hope you can attend more in the future, and maybe after the 2012…they’ll be back on the road again for more to enjoy! 🙂

    • July 10, 2010 12:32 pm

      As an alternative to LeakyCon 2011, there is also a conference being held in NH in 2011. It is being run by HP-MA, a Harry Potter meetup group. It will be a small con- about 500 people. It is also much cheaper than the standard con- hotel is less expensive as is the registration. Best of all- the entire hotel is being taken over by the conference.

      Just an idea if you want to break up your visits to Orlando but still have an HP event to look forward to in 2011!

      http://www.aeternitas2011.org

      • Becky permalink
        July 10, 2010 10:35 pm

        Thank you for letting us know about that! I’m much closer to NH so that’s definitely a possibility. I see it’s in the end of April so I dunno what will be happening with my classes at that point, but I’ll definitely look into it more 🙂

    • Honey permalink
      May 10, 2011 12:08 pm

      I agree with you, not only because Orlando seems to be the ‘staging point’ for these cons, but because it’s almost unbearably hot in Florida in July. I’ve never understood why the summer cons aren’t held further north to take advantage of whatever cooler weather there might be, and in the fall and/or spring, have the events further south.

      I for one won’t be gadding around Florida in July in robes!

  3. Pam permalink
    July 7, 2010 6:49 pm

    WOW!!! I’m glad to hear this 🙂

  4. jackson permalink
    July 7, 2010 6:54 pm

    glad there’s another event, but why Orlando again? the fun thing about the con’s is that they’re in a different place every year, it gives you more incentive to go because you know it’ll be different and you get to play around in a new city and explore… plus there’s not that much to do when you’re in a park hotel…. sound like it’s just infinitus number two….. but who knows it’s too far in advance for me to plan for that, haha

  5. MesserMoony permalink
    July 7, 2010 7:01 pm

    I am actually happy because I’m not able to make it this year and REALLY want to go to Florida so would give me the perfect chance to go and because it is not next year I’d be able to save up money to go 🙂

  6. Christina permalink
    July 7, 2010 9:49 pm

    I’m actually from south-west Florida and hardly ever get to go to conventions and the like because they’re always so far away, so I for one am pumped about all these conferences in Orlando!

    • Jori permalink
      July 10, 2010 4:13 pm

      I agree! I also live in SW Florida so traveling to Orlando for a con is great. And the town is made for entertainment and conventions.

  7. Sempraseverus permalink
    July 8, 2010 12:18 pm

    I would love to take my nephew to Infinitus – only he is just six now …
    However, he will be eight for Ascendio and that would be a much better age for him to fully enjoy both the ThemeParks and the Convention … he will make the height requirements for the rides and will better apreciate time at the Convention I’m sure … In any case I am already looking forward to Infinitus … knowing that another Potter Convention is in the future at Universal Venue thrills me no end …. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

  8. Sarah aka Fawks permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:46 pm

    Do we need to be in the Orlando region to help chair this event? I have experience organizing large conferences, but I’m from Canada.

    • July 9, 2010 1:43 am

      Sarah – no you don’t have to be Orlando to volunteer to be a chair or assistant chair. While we do have some of our team in Florida, we also have team members in Canada, Texas, California, Hawaii, etc… If you are interested please send an email to ascendio2012@gmail.com
      -Mary

  9. Nancy permalink
    July 9, 2010 3:04 am

    I am THRILLED that my chance to go to the HP World at Orlando is not gone forever with Infinitus 2010. Due to financial setbacks, we couldn’t attend this year, and this is the closest the cons have ever come to my home. I know it ‘seems’ that “3 in a row” in the South is too much, but if you look at it from a Southerner’s perspective, all the last few cons have been either way up north (Salem, Chicago) or out west on the other side of the country (Azkatraz). So I do feel it’s fair for the southeastern US to get a chance to “catch up” to our sister states in having the con in our area for a while. THANK YOU, HPEF!

  10. Paige permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:23 pm

    I’ll be 20. That is not going to stop me. 🙂

  11. Cassie permalink
    July 17, 2010 5:36 am

    I held off on going to Infinitus this year as Florida in July really doesn’t appeal to me at all. It’s hot, humid, and has little to do if you’re not into theme parks. I was excited to hear that this year wasn’t the last HPEF con, but not so excited to hear that yet again it would be in Orlando 😦 I guess I’ll just have to hope that eventually there will be one somewhere else, and that I’ll still be in fandom by then!!

  12. Molly permalink
    July 20, 2010 6:25 pm

    I’m actua;;y kind of glad it’s going to be in Orlando in 2012. A) becuase I want to go a Con along with the theme park, and B) it gives me time to save up and plan, plus I’ll be 21 by then. I was think about Leakycon next year, but I’m not so in to the Wrock, and it’s just a smaller convention. Also, if I really had the hankering for a Con, I could just go to Galifrey in LA feb. (I just don’t think if I’m really THAT much of nerd to go to a Doctor Who con though.) Does anybody know of any small con or just HP get togethers on the west coast? I’m in AZ, and even NH next year is really expensive.

  13. Annie permalink
    July 29, 2010 1:54 am

    Well, I’m excited to hear this. I’m a senior in high school this year and my senior trip next summer is going to be to Orlando to the WWoHP, so if I’m already there.. 🙂 though I heard Infinitus2010 was amazing, I would really like to go to Asendio2012. Who knows, maybe I’ll save up enough money to go to that too:) hopefully anyway

  14. August 2, 2010 11:31 am

    Just a question I just bought a hotel and was wondering if anyone could give me ideas on how to get events like this.

    My hotel is being remodeling as of now and would love to start setting up events to follow the grand re-opening. Any links to resources would be grateful and you can email me at my site.

    Thanks in advance.

  15. Rachel permalink
    June 6, 2011 6:10 pm

    Aaah I was at loews royal pacific when infinitus 2010 was going on and my parents wouldn’t let me go bit said I can go to the next one but we’re in royal pacific not portofino !!!!

Leave a Reply

